2364 US Hwy 287, Ste 123

Mansfield, Tx 76063

mansfielddrive@yahoo.com

(817) 225-2808

Mon - Thurs. 4-8p (business hours)

Doors will be unlocked by instructors, after hours, for students who have appointments

TEEN - Behind the Wheel

In-car lessons with a TDLR licensed instructor

Practice with Parents

- WHAT IS BEHIND THE WHEEL -

The State of Texas requires all teen driver’s ed students to have 44 total hours of literal behind-the-wheel of a car time (practice).

  • Phase 1  – Classroom
  • Phase 2 – BTW with Instructors
  • Phase 3 – Practice with Parents

Driving School BTW

  • 7 hours of driving with an Instructor
  • 7 hours observing another student driver

*Parent Taught BTW

  • 14 hours of driving with Parent-Instructor
  • Only applies to PT students.

Practice at Home

  • 30 hours of practice at home.
  • Applies to all teen students.
  • See FAQ below for more information

Teen Behind the wheel training: hours, observations, scheduling and lesson composition is not required for adult driver’s ed learners. 

  • The state requires no BTW training for adults-however it is highly recommended.  
  • Training for adults will be conducted individually between the adult student driver and instructor.
  • Training will be scheduled by MDA staff.
  • Lessons are based on the individual student driver’s preferences but with input from the instructor.

Teen student drivers may start their BTW phase upon successful completion of their permit test and the receiving of their permit from the State of Texas.

At Mansfield Driving Academy all students under contract have one-year to complete this phase of driver’s ed.

  • A $50 contract renewal fee will be assessed to complete teen driver’s ed after one year.
  • After one year the scheduling system will be locked.

Once your start driving with our instructors you will be amazed at how quickly your driving skills will began to sharpen and focus.  Our driving lessons are designed to pack a punch and deliver many skills and procedures in a short amount of time.

  • Lesson 1 – Introduction to the car, parking lots, backing, the Big 3, residential driving, stop signs, cul-de-sacs, turn signals, pedal control, speed limits, blind corners, roundabouts, very light traffic
  • Lesson 2 – Rural country driving, parallel parking, speed control, light intersections, hills and curves, sharp turns, narrow bridges and roads, traffic lights, rural traffic, lane changing.
  • Lesson 3 – Major intersections, stop signs, multi-way intersections, yielding, merging, city driving, moderate traffic, higher speeds, complex traffic lights, multi-lane turns.
  • Lesson 4 – Heavy traffic, merging, traffic light timing, frontage roads, heavy traffic lane changing.
  • Lesson 5 – Highway driving, highway merging and speed control, navigation and cruise control.
  • Lesson 6 – Procedures brush up and advanced driving techniques and unique situations and preparing for the driving test.
  • Lesson 7 – Practice testing routes and procedures.

To schedule your drive times with the instructors we use a program called Schedule2Drive.

  • Enables users the flexibility to schedule when they want.
  • Enables our instructors the freedom to put drive times in around their schedules
  • Allows MDA and students the record keeping required by state law.
*See information below on setting up your S2D account.

- SCHEDULE 2 DRIVE -

Schedule2Drive.com is our third party partners in the record keeping of our student’s behind the wheel phase.  The State of Texas requires that we log when a student drives, for how long, and what was accomplished.

  • Enables users the flexibility to schedule when they want.
  • Enables our instructors the freedom to put drive times in around their schedules
  • Around the clock access.
  • Students can cancel and reschedule drive times.

A one-time $10 fee is payed directly to Schedule 2 Drive for the upkeep of their servers and website.  It does not go to Mansfield Driving Academy.

There could be several reasons for an account to be inactive.

  • Upon initial registration of your online account.
    • We at Mansfield Driving Academy have to unlock your access from our end.
    • Give use 24-48 hours to see and unlock your account – especially during weekends.
  • Student rule violation
    • Fee incurred
  • Past one-year contract term.

No, do not schedule under S2D.

  • Schedule 2 Drive is meant for teens only.
  • Adults will be scheduled by MDA staff.
    • Call or email us to set up that drive time 817-225-2808
    • mansfielddrive@yahoo.com

No, at Mansfield Driving Academy we have a policy that only students enrolled in the teen BTW program can ride in the car with other teens.

  • Adult student drivers will be scheduled on individual lessons.
  • Adult students that are still in high-school or early-college may enroll in the teen program.

New Student Registration

  1. Go to https://www.schedule2drive.com/
  2. In the upper-right corner
    • “Need Account”
    •  
      1. C3319
      2. Click Go
  3. Enter the proper information
        • Permit ID is the same as your DL number on your permit.
          • DO NOT put your student-id in this space.
  4. Pay a one time $10 fee.
    • Credit or Debit card.
  5. Once completed your account IS NOT active.
    • You can still log into your account.
    • Give us 24-48hrs to unlock your account.

Scheduling a Drive

  1. Go to https://www.schedule2drive.com 
  2. In right middle box “Student Login”
    • Choose state
    • Enter Permit DL Number
    • Birthday
  3. Click on “Schedule Drives” link located on the left-hand navigation panel
  4. Select a date that has “Open Slots” on the calendar.
    1.  
    2. If the open link does not appear on a particular date-no drive times have been scheduled for that date.
    3. If the word “Full” appears, all sessions have been filled.
  5. Select the specific time you would like to drive under the selected date.
  6. Click on the “Next Step” button.
  7. Verify that you have selected the correct time and date and click on the “Register for Drive.”

- SCHEDULING DRIVE TIMES -

- THINGS TO KNOW -

  • Drive times are released weekly on Wednesday’s at 4:30pm.
    • Please log in, just prior to 4:30pm, and refresh your screen until those drive times pop-up.
    • Drive times often go fast so don’t wait.

Drive times are released in one week increments (7 days total) at a time.

    • This allows for our staff and instructors the flexibility to make their schedules
    • Students are limited to one drive time within a 7 day period.

Due to student demand we cannot guarantee that you get a drive time when requested.

  • There are only so many drive time slots-this is limited to the amount of hours our instructors are working.
  • Please wait the next Wednesday and try again.
  • If you have tried multiple times without success please call us for help.
  • We can see how many log in attempts and when attempted.

Your instructor time is very limited.  As such, your instructors are giving you concentrated skill building time. The key to success is that the student should put in practice time at home to go over with an adult the skills taught with the instructors.

All teens possessing a learner’s permit must hold their permit for 6-months.  This means a student has more than enough time to finish their required drive times and driver’s ed.

  • Don’t wait to the last second or deadline.
  • If you wait and don’t attempt to get your drive times completed, in a consistent manner, you will delay the whole process for yourself.
    • Even if you turn 18 you will be required to finish the teen program (per the law) or will have to start over as an adult.

Unless otherwise stated on the reservation a drive time is usually 2-hours.

  • 1 hour will be for driving
  • 1 hour will be observation

Unless due to special circumstances you will have another student observing you.

  • This meets general state driver’s ed guidelines.

It may happen that you have a mismatch in hours driven versus observations.

  • DO NOT schedule these observations as a drive time.
  • Call us or email us to help set that up.

When a student cancels a drive time an automatic email goes out to all eligible students in the system.

  • The first to grab it will get it.

A student may cancel a drive time no later than 24-hours before the drive time.

  • A $35 late-cancelation fee will be assessed if canceled closer than 24 hours.

Students who don’t show up to a drive time will be assessed a $35 no show fee and their account placed on inactive until resolved.

  • Instructors will try and call if a student is relatively close.

Please arrive 5-10 minutes before your scheduled drive time.  Instructors must get started as soon as possible.

  • Try and call us and we will try and work you in. 817-225-2808
    • Instructors are willing to work with you where it is possible.
    • If you are not reasonably close we will have not choice but to cancel your drive with fee.

All students must have shoes that cover the heel for safety.

  • No flip flops
  • No slides
  • No sandals with open heels
  • Crocs should be placed with heel down.
  • Not having proper footwear will result in no-show fee.

A student must bring a proper driver’s permit to their drive time.  The permit must not be expired.

  • Temporary paper permit from the DPS is acceptable if not expired.
    • Paper permit is only good for 30 days.
  • A photo copy is not legal proof.
  • An out-of-state permit is not transferable.
  • Not having a proper permit will result in a no-show fee.

A student who has prescription glasses or contacts is required to bring them to their drive time.

  • If your permit has an A restriction you must legally drive with corrective lenses.
  • Not having proper eyewear will result in a no-show fee.

Please arrive early to your scheduled drive time.  You do not have to check in at the front desk.  Just wait in the lobby and your instructor will call you up when ready.

  • Please understand that your instructor may be on another drive time -these things can possibly run late.

Food and colored drinks are prohibited on a drive time.  Water may be brought.

  • Any food or drink items bought at the snack stand are also prohibited other than water.

A student must turn their cellphone off and/or out of sight.  Even when not driving the student is there to observe the driving student.

  • Failure to comply may result in canceling the student’s drive time.

Sleeping is not allowed in the backseat while on observation.

  • Expect a no-show fee and cancelling of drive time for repeated violations.

Due to traffic and scheduling situations a drive time may go long.  Student’s are encouraged to inform their parents of the delay when this happens.

  • A student may use their cellphone to contact their parents when this occurs.

- THINGS TO KNOW -

A student may cancel a drive time no later than 24-hours before the drive time.

  • A $35 late-cancelation fee will be assessed if canceled closer than 24 hours.

Students who don’t show up to a drive time will be assessed a $35 no show fee and their account placed on inactive until resolved.

  • Instructors will try and call if a student is relatively close.

Please arrive 5-10 minutes before your scheduled drive time.  Instructors must get started as soon as possible.

  • Try and call us and we will try and work you in. 817-225-2808
    • Instructors are willing to work with you where it is possible.
    • If you are not reasonably close we will have not choice but to cancel your drive with fee.

All students must have shoes that cover the heel for safety.

  • No flip flops
  • No slides
  • No sandals with open heels
  • Crocs should be placed with heel down.
  • Not having proper footwear will result in no-show fee.

A student must bring a proper driver’s permit to their drive time.  The permit must not be expired.

  • Temporary paper permit from the DPS is acceptable if not expired.
    • Paper permit is only good for 30 days.
  • A photo copy is not legal proof.
  • An out-of-state permit is not transferable.
  • Not having a proper permit will result in a no-show fee.

A student who has prescription glasses or contacts is required to bring them to their drive time.

  • If your permit has an A restriction you must legally drive with corrective lenses.
  • Not having proper eyewear will result in a no-show fee.

Please arrive early to your scheduled drive time.  You do not have to check in at the front desk.  Just wait in the lobby and your instructor will call you up when ready.

  • Please understand that your instructor may be on another drive time -these things can possibly run late.

Food and colored drinks are prohibited on a drive time.  Water may be brought.

  • Any food or drink items bought at the snack stand are also prohibited other than water.

A student must turn their cellphone off and/or out of sight.  Even when not driving the student is there to observe the driving student.

  • Failure to comply may result in canceling the student’s drive time.

Sleeping is not allowed in the backseat while on observation.

  • Expect a no-show fee and cancelling of drive time for repeated violations.

Due to traffic and scheduling situations a drive time may go long.  Student’s are encouraged to inform their parents of the delay when this happens.

  • A student may use their cellphone to contact their parents when this occurs.

- PRACTCE AT HOME -

When an athlete learns a new skill or a child is learning to play piano, we must practice to get better at the new skill we are trying to learn.  Driving is a skill that can be developed.  With practice a student can get past the new anxiety filled driving to performing advanced driving techniques with calm and ease. 

  • This phase of driver’s ed is considered the 3rd Phase.

The State of Texas requires a log totaling a minimum of 30 hours of practice driving outside of the driving school.

  • Click Here for a copy of this log.
  • This log is required for taking the final driving test.
  • A formal drive time with an instructor cannot be logged as practice.
  • There are a few rules to know – see below.

Any adult driver (parent, guardian, grandparent, older sibling, etc.) that is 21 or over in age, has held their license for one year, does not hold a permit themselves and has a current license.

  • This adult must sit in the front passenger seat.
  • This adult will sign the log and place their DL number on the appropriate line and for the date of the drive.

No duplicated dates are allowed on the log.  This ensures that the student is driving over a longer period of time rather than in a short burst.

A student can only log one-hour of driving on the log per date.  This ensures that the student practices over a period of time and cannot log a long road trip as practice time.

  • A student absolutely should drive more than one-hour at a time-it just cannot be logged that way.
  • 20 Hours of the Log should be done in daylight hours.
  • 10 Hours of the log should be done during nighttime hours.

A student driver who is being supervised by a licensed adult does not have any driving restrictions.

  • Student must hold a valid permit before driving.
  • Road, Weather and Traffic conditions should be matched to a student driver’s experience.
  • Be careful with tired and drowsy driving.
  • The supervisor driver should be awake and alert along with the student driver.
  • Take care for the student driver to not be distracted.
  • A student driver should refrain from towing trailers or driving with unique equipment.

- PREPARING FOR THE ROAD TEST -

Your local driving school serving the Mansfield, Kennedale and Arlington areas since 2009.

Business hours

OPENING HOURS